In some cases, membership for practical reasons goes beyond single legal entities and covers institutions collaborating in a national/regional context. Cooperation with major research schools in East Asia is being developed, drawing on already existing sister-university and other links.


Vienna: Institute of East Asian Studies, University of Vienna

Czech Rep.

Prague: Institute of East Asian Studies, Charles University in Prague


Copenhagen: Copenhagen Business School

Copenhagen: Copenhagen University: Asian Dynamics Initiative


Lyon: Institut d’Asie Orientale, Université de Lyon, CNRS

Lyon: Institut d’Etudes Transtextuelles et Transculturelles, Université de Lyon


Duisburg: Institute of East Asian Studies of the University of Duisburg-Essen


Venice: Dipartimento di Studi sull’Asia Orientale, Ca-Foscari University


Barcelona: Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona in cooperation with Fundació CIDOB

Madrid: Centro de Estudios de Asia Oriental, Universidad Autónoma

(Membership based on a joint agreement between Barcelona and Madrid.)


Lund: Centre for East and Southeast Asian Studies, Lund University

United Kingdom

Leeds / Sheffield: White Rose East Asia Centre

(Centre between the departments of East Asian Studies at the Universities of Leeds and Sheffield)

Leeds: Department of East Asian Studies

Sheffield: School of East Asian Studies


Coimbra: China@UC, Universidade de Coimbra

Lodz: Department of East Asia Studies, University of Lodz